Go to current week.⬇


Reminder: every weekday at 10:00am we have Coffee Discussions in the Founders' Room.
Also, all talks should be recorded and available through the KITP site: http://online.kitp.ucsb.edu/online/exoplanets10/
Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 25
10:00AM
SSR
Coordinators
Organizational Meeting
All participants

12:15pm
Aud
Gabi Kotliar
Understanding correlated electron materials starting from first principles: where do we stand ?
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue Jan 26





Wed Jan 27
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Phil Marshall, Stanford
Finding and Using Strong Gravitational Lenses
Astrophysics seminar
Thu Jan 28
11:00am
MSR
Burrows & Menou
Program opening discussion
20 min talk + 20 min discussion

1:30pm
Aud
Konacki
The radial velocity TATOOINE search for circumbinary planets
20 min talk + 20 min discussion; pdf file of talk

2:30pm
Aud
Udry
Current Census of the Low-Mass Planet Population
20 min talk + 20 min discussion; pdf file of talk
Fri Jan 29
11:00am
SSR
Dobbs-Dixon
Radiation Hydrodynamics of Irradiated Gas Giants
20 min talk + 20 min discussion; pdf file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Rauscher
Developing General Circulation Models for Hot Jupiters
20 min talk + 20 min discussion; ppt file of talk
Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 1
12:15pm
Aud
Kristen Menou
How Unusual Is Our Solar System?
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue, Feb 2
11:00am
MSR
Gordon Ogilvie
Mechanisms Of Tidal Dissipation in Planet-Star Interactions
pdf file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Rosemary Mardling
Q-based Models and Their Use
pdf file of talk
Wed, Feb 3
2:00pm
MSR
Miguel Eckstein
Linking Neurons to Individual Differences in Perceptual Skill
KITP Colloquium, All welcome.

4:00pm
Broida 3302
Jeff Cooke
High-redshift Galaxy Interactions: Implications On the Nature of Lyman-alpha Emitting and Lyman-alpha Absorbing Galaxies
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Feb 4
11:00am
MSR
Dong Lai
Dynamical Tides in Exotic Stellar Binaries
ppt file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Daniel Fabrycky
Tidal Influence on Orbital Dynamics
ppt file of talk
Fri, Feb 5





Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 8





Tue, Feb 9
11:00am
Aud
Wes Traub
Finding an Earth via Astrometry and Radial Velocity
ppt file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Stéphane Udry
Earth-mass Planets with Radial Velocity Methods
pdf file of talk
Wed, Feb 10
2:00pm
Ocean Room

Spin-Orbit (mis-)Alignment Theory
discussion

4:00pm
Broida 3302
Dong Lai
Exciting Waves and Modes in Black-Hole Accretion Disks
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Feb 11





Fri, Feb 12





Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 15


Presidents Day
UCSB Holiday
No scheduled events at KITP
Tue, Feb 16
11:00am
MSR
Alex Wolszczan
Radio Detection of Exoplanets
pdf file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Ray Jayawardhana
Characterizing Hot Jupiters From the Ground


4:00pm
Broida 1640
Adam Burrows
How Do Core-Collapse Supernovae Explode?
Physics Department Colloquium
Wed, Feb 17
3:00pm
Ocean Tower

N-body simulations & planet formation
breakout session
Thu, Feb 18
11:00am
MSR
Douglas Lin
Modeling Planet Populations I
ppt file of talk

1:30pm
Aud
Ed Thommes
Modeling Planet Populations II: Interactions and Distant Giant Planets
pdf file of talk

3:30pm
Ocean Tower

Planetary evolution during the late stages of stellar evolution
breakout session
Fri, Feb 19





Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 22
12:15pm
Aud
Mukund Thattai
The Unreasonable Irrelevance of Mathematics to Biology
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue, Feb 23
1:30pm
Aud
Susanne Pfalzner
The Influence Of The Cluster Environment On Star-Disc Systems
ppt file of talk, movie file
Wed, Feb 24
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Mateusz Ruszkowski
How Galaxy Motions and Thermal Conduction Conspire to Heat the Cool Cores in Galaxy Clusters
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Feb 25
1:30pm
Aud
Christophe Sotin
Super-Earths vs. Mini-Neptunes: Can We Tell The Difference?
pdf file of talk
Fri, Feb 26





Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 1
12:15pm
Aud
TBA
TBA
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue, Mar 2
1:30pm
Aud
Shigeru Ida
Formation of Non-Resonant, Multiple, Close-In Super-Earth Systems
pdf file of talk

4:00 pm
Broida 1640
Christophe Sotin
Thermal Convection and Plate Tectonics on Earth-Like Exoplanets
Physics department colloquium
Wed, Mar 3
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Yuval Birnboim
Virial Shocks in Galaxy and Cluster Halos
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Mar 4
1:30pm
Aud
Heather Knutson
An Observer's Perspective on Circulation in Hot Jupiter Atmospheres

Fri, Mar 5





Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 8
12:15pm
Aud
TBA
TBA
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue, Mar 9
1:30pm
Aud
Bradley Hansen
Empirical Calibration of Tidal Qs
pdf file of talk

4:00pm
Broida 1640
Siegfried Glenzer
Mega-joule Experiments On The National Ignition Facility - On The Road To Produce a Microscopic Star In The Laboratory
Physics department colloquium
Wed, Mar 10
2:00pm
MSR
Stanley Deser
Quantum Gravity and Its (Dis)contents
KITP colloquium

4:00pm
Broida 3302
Lauren Spencer
Life on Mars: New Evidence from Martian Meteorites
Astrophysics colloquium
Thu, Mar 11
1:30pm
Aud
Jean-Michel Desert
Observations of Hot Jupiter Evaporation
pdf file of talk
Fri, Mar 12





Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 15





Tue, Mar 16
1:30pm
Aud
Travis Barman
Observations and Models for the Young Exoplanet HR 8799 b

Wed, Mar 17





Thu, Mar 18
1:30pm
Aud
Karl Stapelfeldt
Debris Disk Clues to Nearby Exoplanets
pdf file of talk
Fri, Mar 19





Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 22
12:15pm
Aud
Mirjam Cvetic
String Theory Bridges to Particle Physics and Cosmology
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, all welcome
Tue, Mar 23
1:30pm
Aud
John Johnson
Stellar Mass Matters
pdf file of talk
Wed, Mar 24





Thu, Mar 25
1:30pm
Aud
Christoph Mordasini
Planetary Population Synthesis - Comparing Theory and Observation
file of talk available here
Fri, Mar 26





Week 10, Mar 29 - Apr 2: Conference schedule, Conference online talks
Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 5
12:15pm
Aud
Brigitte Roethlein
"Scientists are Geeks" contra "Journalists are Clueless:" How to improve a difficult relationship
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, all welcome
Tue, Apr 6
1:30pm
Aud
Melvyn Davies
How Stellar Encounters Affect Planetary Systems


4:00pm
Broida 1640
Saul Teukolsky
Simulations of Black Holes, Neutron Stars and Gravitational Waves
Physics department colloquium
Wed, Apr 7
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Rajat Thomas
Reionization with LOFAR
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Apr 8





Fri, Apr 9





Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 12





Tue, Apr 13
1:30pm
Aud
Margaret Pan
Revisiting the (RV) Exoplanet Eccentricity Distribution

Wed, Apr 14
2:00pm
MSR
Dieter Luest
Strings at the LHC
KITP colloquium

4:00pm
Broida 3302
Adriano Fontana
A Combined VLT and WFC3 View on High Redshift Galaxies
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Apr 15





Fri, Apr 16





Week 13
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 19
12:15pm
Aud
Sri Sastry
The Physics of Glasses
Blackboard lunch
Tue, Apr 20
1:30pm
Aud
Eric Ford
Secular Evolution of Multiple Planet Systems and Implications for the Planet Scattering Model


4:00pm
Broida 1640
Mike Cates
Statistical Mechanics of Motile Bacteria
Physics department colloquium
Wed, Apr 21
1:30pm
Aud
Rachel Courtland, Brigitte Roethlein + 3 scientists.
On and Off the Record: How to Talk to Journalists
Journalists in Residence. Who are these assistants?

4:00pm
Broida 3302
Laura Sales
The Origin of Compact Spheroids and Extended Disks Galaxies at z=2
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Apr 22
1:30pm
Aud
James Cho
TBA

Fri, Apr 23





Week 14
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 26





Tue, Apr 27
2:00pm
Aud
Greg Laughlin
M-dwarfs, Metallicities and Planet Formation
CANCELED
Wed, Apr 28
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Hakim Atek
The Lyman-alpha Emission Line As a Cosmological Tool
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Apr 29





Fri, Apr 30





Week 15
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 3





Tue, May 4





Wed, May 5





Thu, May 6
2:00pm
Aud
Batygin and Stevenson
Inflating Hot Jupiters with Ohmic Dissipation

Fri, May 7





Week 16
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 10





Tue, May 11
2:00pm
Aud
Fred Adams
The Birth Environment of the Sun


4:00pm
Broida 1640
Robert Kennicutt
An Overview and Census of Star Formation in the Universe
Physics department colloquium
Wed, May 12
4:00pm
Broida 3302
Robert Kennicutt
The Star Formation Law: Unraveling the Physics of the Star Formation Ecosystem
Astrophysics seminar
Thu, May 13





Fri, May 14





Week 17
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 17





Tue, May 18



KISS/KITP Mini-Workshop on Future Space Probes of Exoplanets
schedule
Wed, May 19



KISS/KITP Mini-Workshop on Future Space Probes of Exoplanets

Thu, May 20
2:00 pm
Aud
Neal Turner
Where Planets Form: The Dead Zone in Protostellar Disks

Fri, May 21





*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room FR=Founders' Room
⬆Top